About SMC

Board of Visitors

The School of Media and Communication’s Board of Visitors provides counsel and advice in the development of strategic plans, policy formation and academic matters. Members, who are appointed to three-year terms, serve as ambassadors for the school and provide information about the trends, challenges and needs in the fields of media and communication that may impact the strategic direction of the school. To read more about each individual, please click on his or her name.

Lew Klein, Chair
Adjunct Professor
Former Producer, American Bandstand

Steve Capus, ’86
Former President
NBC News

Tom Conti, ’83

Bill Daly, ’77
Duffy Cut Films

Johanna DeStefano
Professor Emeritus
Ohio State University

Jason George, ’96

Bill Giles
Philadelphia Phillies

H. Chase Lenfest
President and CEO
Lenfest Broadcasting, LLC
Brian S. Mattes ’77, SBM ’84
Principal, Government Relations
The Vanguard Group, Inc.

Jane Creamer Sullivan ’70, Co-chair
The Sullivan Company

Stephen P. Miskin, CLA ’91
Office of the Republican Leader, Mike Turzai

Shirley M. Powell, ’88
Executive VP of Corporate Communications
The Weather Channel Companies

Bernie Prazenica, ’79
President and General Manager

Tony Summerlin


  • SMC Development Department
  • 15 Annenberg Hall, 2020 North 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19121
  • Michele Blazer
  • Director of Development
  • 215-204-3326
  • michele.blazer@temple.edu
  • Jeff Cronin
  • Assistant Director of Communications
  • 215-204-3324
  • jcronin@temple.edu