FMA Graduate Student wins 2013 Princess Grace Award

Prince Grace Awards

FMA graduate MFA candidate, David Romberg will be receiving his 2013 Princess Grace Award with other 23 recipients on October 30th at the Award Gala ceremony in New York City, in the presence of The Prince and Princess of Monaco. 

David Romberg is the recipient of the 2013 Princess Grace Award in the category Film – Honoraria. He is a third-year graduate student and has received several honors as the Motion Picture Award, the Grickis Memorial Scholarship Award, The Diamond Screen Best Doc Award, as well as a nomination for the Kodak Eastman Scholars Award. Tribeca Film Institute’s Latin American Filmmaker Fund, 2013 Heineken VOCES Grant for Documentary Film and 2013 Princess Grace Award are supporting Man of the Monkey, David´s first feature-length documentary: a journey to uncover the mystery of man who lived with a chimpanzee as his wife in a remote Brazilian island. The film is inspired by David Romberg childhood, when he used to go to the island of Ilha Grande, in Brazil, where his father told him the tale about a man who lived in the island with a female chimpanzee, man who they know now, was an escaped Nazi. For more information about the documentary visit the website here.

Princess Grace Awards is provided by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA, a public charity created in 1982, after the death of Princess Grace of Monaco. National in scope, the Princess Grace Foundation is dedicated to identifying and assisting emerging talent in theater, dance, and film by awarding grants in the form of scholarships, apprenticeships, and fellowships. The Princess Grace Awards are among the most important nationally competitive student film awards in the United States. The competition attracts every major film school in the United States. Each school submits the work of one graduate student and one undergraduate into national competition each year.

Students at Temple University have excelled at the history of Princess Grace Awards, receiving seven awards in the last nine years. Our past winners include Fiona Otway (graduate award, 2012), Mark Tumas (undergraduate award, 2012)Chinonye Chukwu (graduate award, 2009), Heidi Saman (graduate award, 2006) and Karen Carpenter (graduate award, 2005).

2013 Princess Grace Award Winner

David Romberg (graduate award)



Previous Princess Award winner from FMA Alumi:

Fiona Otway (graduate award, 2012)
Mark Tumas (undergraduate award, 2012)
Chinonye Chukwu (graduate award, 2009)
Heidi Saman (graduate award, 2006)
Karen Carpenter (graduate award, 2005)
Melissa Thompson (graduate award, 1999)

This entry was posted in Graduate Work, News, Projects, Student Work. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.