San Francisco Buildings with Coit Tower

S.F Internships

The San Francisco Bay Area Program guides and assists with the internship process in your specific areas of interest. Students work directly with an internship coordinator based in the Bay Area to apply for and secure placements. (Minimum 2 days per week). Please find example descriptions and a list of potential placements:

Loteria Films

Interns at Loteria Films have the opportunity to gain experience in all aspects of production. We typically ask our interns to assist in pre-production with grant and funding research, story research, as well as some office management work. Interns also help with coordinating shoots by researching locations, creating travel memos and call sheets, and preparing gear and equipment. In some cases, interns may have the opportunity to work on shoots as a production assistant. Interns will also assist with media management, logging and syncing footage, transcoding videos, transcribing, and other post-production needs as they arise. In addition, Loteria is developing a social media and outreach campaign around one of our films, for which interns may be asked to research, edit, and create content.

For more information about the company and current projects, please visit www.loteriafilms.com

Oddball Films

Interns will be assigned one or more of the following:

Entering new 16mm, 35mm and small gauge film and media acquisitions into our in-house and new web based database, and inspecting, cleaning and repairing 16mm film in preparation for transfer to digital files. New additions to the collection include experimental and avant-garde films, documentary, educational, news outtakes and a vast variety of subject themed films.

In addition, interns will be assigned a specific personal project based on their capabilities and interest.

Bay Area Video Coalition: Next Gen Internship Program

BAVC’s Next Gen program offers flexible pathways for young people from diverse neighborhoods across the Bay Area to increase their storytelling, social justice and media arts skills. Ultimately, our goal is to help young adults gain experience and opportunities that lead to media arts careers and entrepreneurship.

BAVC Next Gen Interns are an integral part of the departments’ shared leadership structure.  Potential projects include creating a film about BAVC Next Gen’s Bridges Fellowship program, alumni outreach, administrative support, program outreach, creating weekly updates, classroom participations, event coordination for Next Gen Graduations, and working in partnership with the GEARS Youth Leadership Council.  BAVC Next staff also work in collaboration with Interns to develop meaningful tasks related to their unique skills and learning goals that may include having them take a free BAVC class of their choosing.

Placements may include:

Film/Media Production:

Alligator Planet (alligatorplanet.com)
Backplane (thebackplane.com)
Bay Area Video Coalition (bavc.org)
CBS Interactive
Digital Moon Productions (digitalmoonproductions.com)
eImage (eimage.com)
Evolve Media Productions (evolvemedia.tv)
Far West Film Company (farwestfilm.com)
Fat Box Film (fatbox.com)
Film Core Distribution (filmcore.net)
Four Times Films (fourtimesfilms.com)
Friday’s Films (fridaysfilms.com)
Funhouse Films (funhousefilms.com)
GB Films (gb-films.com)
Half Moon Films, LLC (halfmoonfilms.biz)
Independent TV Service (itvs.org)
Last Wave Film (lastwavefilm.com)
Loteria Films (loteriafilms.com)
KQED (kqed.org)
Made in A Free World (madeinafreeworld.com)
Mill Valley Film Group (mvfg.com)
Movette Film Transfer (movettefilm.com)
Open Eye Pictures (openeyepictures.com)
Open Source Film Project (theosfp.com)
Project Film and TV (projectfilm.tv)
Rock Star Shots (rockstarshots.com)
Ro*co films International (rocofilms.com)
Scary Cow (scarycow.com)
ShadowLight Productions (shadowlight.org)
Studio B Films (studiobfilms.com)
SF Film Commission (filmsf.org)
Tim Kay Films (timkayfilms.com)
Vain LLC (vainllc.com)

Animation:

Rapid Eye Digital (rapideyedigital.com)
Little Fluffy Clouds, LLC (littlefluffyclouds.com)
Cinematico (cinematico.com)
Neumatic Inc. (neumatic.com)

Film Archiving:

Oddball Film and Video ((oddballfilm.com))
World Trust Educational Services (world-trust.org)

Documentary film production:

Bread & Butter Films (breadandbutterfilms.com)
Citizen Film (citizenfilm.org)
Frame of Mind Films (frameofmindfilms.com)
Gershpost Film and Editing (gershpost.com)
Haiku Films (haikufilms.org)
Iron Mountain Films, Inc. (ironmountainfilms.com)
Points of View Productions (pointsofviewinc.com)
Truth Be Told Productions (truthbetoldcreative.com)

Collectives/museums:

SF Film Society
SF Cinematheque
Right Window
Artists’ Access Television
BAM/PFA
OMCA
SFMoMA
Moxie Institute Film Studio + Lab

Festivals:

Fairly comprehensive list found here: http://www.sfmission.com/sf_film_festivals.htm

Related Links


Contact

  • Nora M. Alter
  • Director
  • FMA Study Away
  • Alison Crouse
  • Associate Program Director
  • FMA Study Away
  • Room 14F Annenberg Hall
  • (Lower Level)
  • 215-204-5910
  • crousea@temple.edu