M&C Students

There are just over 40 M&C students, outstanding scholars with diverse backgrounds and interests within the field of communication. (If you are a student and wish to update the information listed here, please send the new information to mcphd@temple.edu.)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Darren Bau-Madsen
psychological processing of media, new media
darren.bau-madsen@temple.edu
[more information]

Kathryn Beardsley
tuc16437@temple.edu
[more information]

Michael K. Canty
Gender and sexuality studies with an emphasis on LGBTQ issues, online identity construction, new media, social media, corporate communications and public relations
Michael.Canty@Temple.edu
[more information]

Weidan Cao
comic arts, intercultural communication, quantitative research methods
weidan@temple.edu
[more information]

Angela Carter
representations of race and gender, media literacy, psychological processing of media
angela.carter@temple.edu
[more information]

John C. Church, Jr.
political communication and the history of service to country and community and how the processing and communication of such service was and is portrayed in the media
jcchurch@temple.edu
[more information]

Maria Christina Cipollone
media and identity construction, psychological processing of media, media and the cognitive process, US popular culture and representations of race
mariacip@temple.edu
[more information]

Angela M. Cirucci
social media’s effects on identity formation and perception of reality, social media and immersion, teen usage of new media, digital and media literacy
angela.cirucci@temple.edu
[more information]

Susannah K. Cobb
advertising, new media, mass communication, how social media is shifting the way organizations communicate with their audiences, and secondarily, sports communication and sports culture
susannah.cobb@temple.edu
[more information]

David Crider
presentation and promotion of identity through media, contemporary and historical media programming practices, radio management and industry concerns
david.crider@temple.edu
[more information]

Hyunji Doh
Gender representation, critical discourse analysis, lived experiences, public relations, health communication.
hyunji.doh@temple.edu

Katrina Flener
critical/cultural perspectives of the relationship between media and criminal justice policy (particularly drug policy); critical political economy of media; communication law and policy
kflener@temple.edu
[more information]

Michael Fuller
communication between peripheries and centers, decolonization, legitimacy
tuc15308@temple.edu
[more information]

Yvonne Fulmore
educational media production, image representation and media depictions of race and gender with a concentration on Black women, digital arts/interactive media, animation
yfulmore@temple.edu
[more information]

Tom Gallagher
political communication, broadcast journalism, politically focused new media, media representations of popular culture
tomstone9@yahoo.com
[more information]

Kelly C. George
disability studies, strategic communication, non-profit organizations, health communication, qualitative research methods
kelly.george@temple.edu
[more information]

Maxine Gesualdi
public relations, integrated marketing communication, corporate reputation especially as created in online channels, social media, Cultural Studies and the cultural construct of “working mother”
maxinegesualdi@gmail.com
[more information]

Paige L. Gibson
new media, online identity and community, collective memory, stigma and difference, privacy
plg@temple.edu

Linda Greenwood
political communication & new media, psychological processing of media, social impact of technology, visual communication
linda.greenwood@temple.edu
[more information]

Constanta Alina Hogea
social change, communication and public policy, globalization, media ethics
constanta.hogea@temple.edu
[more information]

Rose Howerter
rahowerter@aol.com
[more information]

Luling Huang
Discourse and identity, new media, conversation analysis
luling.huang@temple.edu

Carrie Teresa Isard
journalism and mass communication history, social memory, celebrity culture, race and representation, cultural studies, gender studies
carrie.teresa@temple.edu
[more information]

Jaehyeon Jeong
genre studies on comic arts, cultural studies on media, globalization and localization, cultural hybridization in the mediascape
jeongljjy@gmail.com
[more information]

Russell Johnson
tuc14411@temple.edu
[more information]

Rachel Jones
reception of American media in developing nations, camera as a vehicle for social change, gender studies, intercultural communication, social impact of technology
rachelcjones@gmail.com
[more information]

Ju Oak Kim
global communication, media production and industries, media in education, digital storytelling, narratives and representation of culture, the construction of identity through media
juoak.kim@temple.edu
[more information]

Jessica Knab
communication and education, media literacy
jessica.knab@temple.edu
[more information]

Smitha Lakshminarayan
smiitha@gmail.com
[more information]

Juan S. Larrosa-Fuentes
Media Systems, Political Economy, Political Communication, Media History
larrosa@temple.edu

Byron Lee
gender and sexuality studies, ethnic studies, citizenship, construction and representations of identity, social networking, urban geography, cultural studies
byron.lee@temple.edu
[more information]

Hojeong Lee
globalization, audience studies, interaction between society and people through media, political dynamics
hojeong.lee@temple.edu
[more information]

Marc Londo
psychological processing of media, uses and gratifications, popular culture, intercultural communication, comic art, African American studies
marc.londo@temple.edu
[more information]

Heidi Mau
Film and media studies, new media, digital culture, visual communication, gender and sexuality
heidi.mau@temple.edu
[more information]

Brian McFadden
social networking, web-based dramaturgical relationships, identity and representation, sports broadcasting, new media
bfadds@gmail.com
[more information]

Melissa R. Meade
international and intercultural communication issues
melimeade@yahoo.com
[more information]

Jennifer Midberry
visual communication and photojournalism, intercultural communication, media coverage of conflict and representations of the Middle East
jmidberry@gmail.com
[more information]

Alanna Miller
film and television studies, popular culture, cultural and critical studies, ideology in science fiction and cult media, interactive media
alannarmiller@gmail.com
[more information]

Armando Morales
international media, Latin America and specifically Cuba, press relationships with governments and institutions
armando.morales@gmail.com
[more information]

Stephanie Morrow
political communication, public relations, communication history
stephmorrow72@yahoo.com
[more information]

Eloise Murphy
critical analysis of political rhetoric
eloise.murphy@temple.edu
[more information]

Stephanie Palmieri
representations of sexuality and sexual violence in young adult fiction, young adult fantasy fiction and magical realism, and critical literacy in middle grades education
stephanie.palmieri@temple.edu
http://palmieriportfolio.weebly.com
[more information]

Michael Plugh
collaboration, collaborative education, public discourse, media ecology, general semantics
mike@plugh.net
[more information]

Elizaveta Provorova
media literacy (K-12 education, critical thinking, social skills, civic engagement), gender studies, gender representations, media representations of sensitive issues (child sexual abuse)
lisa.provorova@gmail.com
[more information]

Michael RobbGrieco
media literacy (in relation to K-12 education, academic achievement, civic engagement, adolescent identity, urban learners, critical and constructivist pedagogy, teacher education, and parental involvement in children’s media use); remix culture; remix practice as a component of literacy (appropriation, modification and distribution of digital texts for new purposes and contexts as a means of cultural participation); teaching and learning about copyright and fair use; music and adolescent identity
robbgrieco@temple.edu
[more information]

Kelly K. Ryan
online identity construction, cyberculture studies, media ownership issues, media literacy, political economy of information, history of advertising
keisryan@earthlink.net
[more information]

Persheng Sadegh-Vaziri
film studies; documentary film; Iranian cinema; cinema, culture and representation
tuc16440@temple.edu
[more information]

Zhou Shan
Social Media, Public opinion, political participation, cyberbalkanization
bellonashan@gmail.com

Chad Sims
film studies, video essay, psychoanalytic theory
chad.sims@temple.edu
[more information]

Sam Srauy
political communication, new media, media structures, development communication, municipal wireless network
ssrauy@temple.edu
[more information]

Emil Steiner
Journalism, social media, social memory, psychology, investor behavior, events
emil.steiner@temple.edu

Siobahn (Tara) Stiles
development communication, discourse analysis, globalization, and women’s studies, with a specific concentration on the mass media’s influence and involvement with human sex trafficking
tara.stiles@temple.edu
[more information]

Chiaoning Su
cultural studies, popular culture, consumer culture and modernity, culture commodity, globalization, international communication, culture imperialism
chiaoning.su@temple.edu
[more information]

Haelim Suh
international film industry, gender representation in intercultural communication, audience studies of digital media and online games
haelimsuh@gmail.com
[more information]

Yuanxin Wang
media effects, new media study, environmental communication
yuanxin.wang@gmail.com
[more information]

Nicole Westrick
Conflict management, human computer interaction, organizational communication, social media, strategic communication
nicole.westrick@temple.edu

Kun Xu
Social and psychological effects of new media use, people’s uncontrollable use of
media, online public opinions including online activism.
kun.xu@temple.edu

Jinjie Yang
yangjinjie07@yahoo.com

Chen Zeng
Media effects, public opinion, political communication, new media, globalization, individual journalism
zengchen0926@gmail.com