Internships

All School of Media and Communication students have the opportunity to experience their fields firsthand through internships and practicum – in TV and radio stations, at production houses, with theater companies, and at newspapers and advertising agencies.

Center for Student Professional Development

Prior to applying for internships all SMC students are encouraged to meet with Patrick Gordon and visit the CSPD in Annenberg Hall, Room 7. Patrick can assist in résumé creation, edits, job/intern search, cover letters, and more. Learn more about the CSPD and view their online resources.

Major-specific Internship Information

If you are looking for more information about the academic components and departmental contacts for internships, please click the appropriate major from those listed below.

Advertising internships
Professor Dana Saewitz
315 Annenberg Hall
215-204-9681
dsaewitz@temple.edu

Communications Studies internships
Scott Gratson, Ph.D.
Suite 9, Rooms C and D
Annenberg Hall
215-204-6434
sgratson@temple.edu

Journalism internships
Professor Maida Odom
311 Annenberg Hall
215-204-4267
mcodom@temple.edu

MSP internships
Dr. Betsy Leebron Tutelman
214 Tomlinson Hall
215-204-2483
betsy@temple.edu

STRC internships
Amanda Bednar
Internship Director
amanda.bednar@temple.edu

Study Away Internship Opportunities

Los Angeles Study Away (Fall, Spring and Summer)
Alison Crouse
Room 213 Architecture Bldg.
(Across from Annenberg)
215-204-5910
crousea@temple.edu

London (Fall and Spring only)
Barcelona, Hong Kong or Costa Rica (Summer only)
New York City Internship/Experience Study Away (Summer only)
Lezlie McCabe
Room 6, Annenberg Hall
215-204-2677
lezlie.mccabe@temple.edu