Prof. Leebron Tutelman earns service award

Professor Betsy Leebron Tutelman and Acting President Richard Englert.

Professor Betsy Leebron Tutelman was selected as the School of Media and Communication’s recipient for the 2012 Outstanding Faculty Service Award. She was one of 18 Temple University faculty members honored by the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Senate Steering committee for their many service contributions to the university during the second annual brunch Nov. 8.

Honorees were presented with a certificate recognizing their outstanding service efforts.

“This distinguished group of faculty members has made tremendous contributions to their departments, schools and colleges and the university,” said Provost Ha-Lung Dai. “Their work strengthens Temple as a vibrant institution of higher learning.”

Tutelman joined the school in 1983, was tenured in 1986 and became chair of the Department of Broadcasting, Telecommunications and Mass Media in 1995. She held the chair position until 2008, with a two-year hiatus. The department grew from 200 to 850 undergraduate and graduate students under her watch.

SMC Interim Dean Thomas Jacobson says her dedication to service is exemplified by many contributions to the school, including her efforts behind the annual Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards.

“She feels the event is important for both the school and the university. Betsy produces a very substantial video program for the event, conducting awardee interviews, supervising video editing and overseeing event production in a variety of ways,” he says. “Betsy’s energy and her loyalty to the institution made her an ideal candidate for the award.”