Entries sought for Weiss Award for Investigative Journalism

A team from The Philadelphia Inquirer won the inaugural Weiss Award for the series “Assault on Learning.” (Photo by Ryan S. Brandenberg/Temple University)

Thanks to the vision and generosity of local business leader Larry Weiss, the Center for Public Interest Journalism (CPIJ) has established an award to recognize the best investigative journalism in the Delaware Valley. The Weiss Award for Investigative Journalism, open to journalism of any medium (print, broadcast or online) produced in the Philadelphia metropolitan area, South Jersey or Delaware, will include one top prize of $10,000 and two “special recognition” prizes of $2,500. There is no fee for submission.

The award is intended to encourage original, enterprising, deeply reported and revelatory news coverage that has had significant impact on the Philadelphia, South Jersey and Delaware communities, particularly stories that generated an increased public awareness about an under recognized social problem; malfeasance in local or state government; waste, fraud and abuse in government agencies or business; or other issues related to advancing the public good.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon at WHYY studios in Philadelphia on Thursday, April 18, 2013.

See the winning stories of the 2012 Weiss Awards here.

Entries must be investigative journalism — not advocacy, editorials or opinion. Entries can be in any medium, i.e. print (dailies, weeklies, magazines, etc.), broadcast (TV, radio) or online. Single stories or series are eligible (a story may include text, photos, audio, video and/or graphics). The original story or series must be identified; follow-up stories may be submitted, if identified as such. Single authors or reporting teams are eligible. Eligible stories should have been published and/or aired during 2012.

The submission deadline is Feb. 15, 2013.

Click here for the full award guidelines.

The Center for Public Interest Journalism is operated by the Temple University School of Media and Communication with support from the William Penn Foundation and the Temple University Journalism Department.