SMC faculty honored with university, school awards

Karen M. Turner, associate professor of journalism, has received a 2012-13 Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award. The awards are intended to recognize and honor those faculty members who epitomize the highest levels of sustained teaching excellence in the classroom, in the research laboratory or in the clinical setting. She was one of six Temple faculty members to be honored with a Lindback Award this year.

In addition, the School of Media and Communication honored three faculty members at its May 7 faculty assembly.

Teaching Awards

Assistant Professor Tracey Weiss, Strategic Communication
Senior Teaching Award

Assistant Professor Lori Tharps, Journalism
Junior Teaching Award

Two awards will be given to full-time faculty members: one for senior faculty (six years or more at Temple) and one junior faculty (five years or fewer at Temple). Applicants should submit an overview of teaching philosophy, and they must include all student evaluations from the prior year. The application must include a written analysis of the applicant’s teaching by the school’s teaching mentor. The applicant is responsible for setting up the evaluation with the teaching mentor. This award also can be given to individuals for teaching innovations in the classroom.

Service Award

Associate Professor Paul Gluck, Media Studies and Production

This award is open to all full-time faculty members. Applicants should provide a written overview of their service contributions beyond those normally associated with the expected service of all faculty members. The service may include, but is not limited to, service to the university, student activities, Faculty Senate, alumni activities, professional associations, community activities, or other forms of service not associated with religious organizations.