Strategic Communication Department Congratulates 34 scholarship recipients

Temple University’s Department of Strategic Communication is pleased to announce this year’s Awards and Scholarship winners. The 34 recipients demonstrated high academic achievement, leadership skills and personal dedication to the Temple community.

The Aram A. Aghazarian Award was granted to Taylor Cobb, senior, for her exemplary leadership in the Temple community and beyond. Cobb is the Foundation Chair for the Rotaract of Temple University and is a member of the NASPA: NUFP Fellows program. She is also creating her own mentoring organization, Mentor for Philly, which she hopes will provide sustainable mentorship for Philadelphia’s high school students.

Cobb also interns at the tri-state area African-American Chamber of Commerce and at Diversity Abroad, an organization that helps underrepresented students to study abroad.

Merideth Ketterer, senior, and Lauren Capone, senior, were awarded the Maxine Edelson Elkin Scholarship for their outstanding academic accomplishments.

Megan Healy, senior, received the Suburban Public Relations Club Scholarship, which is presented annually to an outstanding Strategic communication major.

Alyssa Guckin, senior, was awarded the Alan R. Yofee Scholarship for her role as the director of Temple’s student-run PR firm, PROwl Public Relations.

Twenty-three other juniors and seniors received the David and Florence Newman Scholarship for their academic achievements.

The Donald Ecroyd Memorial Scholarship, which supports students who study public relations was awarded to Carly Gardner, senior, and Shaun Luberski, senior.

“I was so proud when I found out I received the 2015 Ecroyd Memorial Scholarship. I am so honored to have been recognized by the Strategic Communication Department,” said Luberski who is an active member of PROwl Public Relations, and Templar Yearbook and other on-campus organizations. “Coming to Temple is one of the best choices I’ve ever made and I’ll forever be grateful for the financial assistance from the university.”